The Tale of the Adopted Daughter

Imagine this ad on Craigslist:

Wanted, Intown Atlanta: A Good Stepmother

A stepfather would be cool, too. Or two gay dudes: I’m not picky. Hi I’m Lucy, 16F, living in a trailerpark hellhole way out here in Georgia. My “family” is exactly what you’d expect: chainsmoking methheads who claim disability and start drinking before noon. My “school” is nothing but white trash and betteroff kids who say they’re Christians but who Jesus would slap. I’m the kid who wants to make it out of there.

You want to help me make it out of there. You’re stable middleclass people who live near a MARTA station and who think it would be cool to have this little bitty country girl be like your adopted foster daughter or whatever, while she aced her way through a good high school (North Atlanta or Grady would be awesome) and then got into a good college and go off and send you cards thanking you.

I’m neat and tidy, no drama, a boring grind. I can cook, clean, sew, type, fix stuff around the house, drive (even stick), fix a motorcycle. I don’t drink or smoke or do any other drugs, believe me, I’ve seen enough. I don’t have a gun (but I can shoot great) or a baby or an ugly guy with neck tattoos who thinks he’s my boyfriend. I like reading and peace and quiet and city life with lots of cool places to drink coffee. Oh, and I’m great with little kids, too.

I have no idea where this one is going. It’s too much foreshadowing to put in the part about guns. The cliché would be that she really does have someone from her past who’s going to come looking for her. But the way I’d write it, that person would be the least of her worries.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Adopted Daughter (2) | Julian Cage
  2. Adopted Daughter (3) | Julian Cage
  3. Adopted Daughter (4) | Julian Cage
  4. Adopted Daughter (5) | Julian Cage

Leave a Reply

